What are T Levels?

T Level LogoDesigned to give you a head start towards the future you want, T Levels are a brand new qualification that will take your education to the next level. They will combine classroom theory, practical learning and an industry placement to make sure learners have real experience of the workplace.

T levels will provide the knowledge and experience needed to open the door into skilled employment, further study or a higher apprenticeship.

They'll offer learners a mixture of classroom learning and ‘on-the-job’ experience during an industry placement of at least 45 days. You will spend 80% of your time in the classroom and 20% of your time on a 45-day placement to equip you with the knowledge and skills companies are looking for.

Learners will be able to take a T Level in the following subject areas:


Care & Early Years

  • Health
  • Childcare & Education
  • Supporting Teaching & Learning

Construction & Building Technologies

  • Construction Design, Surveying and Planning

Information Technology

  • Digital Production, Design & Development
  • Digital Support Services


  • Healthcare: Assisting with Healthcare Science
  • Science: Laboratory Sciences


Here’s a short video for you to see how they’ll work:

When they will start

How T Levels will work with other post-16 choices

T Levels will become one of the main choices for students after GCSE alongside:

  • Apprenticeships for learners who wish to learn a specific occupation ‘on the job’
  • A levels for learners who wish to continue academic education
  • Other vocational qualifications

T Levels will be based on the same standards as apprenticeships, designed by employers and approved by the Institute for Apprenticeships and Technical Education (the Institute). Students will study over two years and will typically have 1,800 hours of tuition over those years, including their industry placement. This is a significant increase on most current technical education courses.

How T Levels are being developed

Employers and providers are working together to develop each T Level, with support from DfE and the Institute. Groups of employers define the skills and requirements for each T Level course by participating in T Level panels. This ensures that students taking T Levels will develop the technical knowledge and skills required by employers in that industry.

Structure of a T level

T Level courses will include the following compulsory elements:

  • A technical qualification, which will include specialist skills and knowledge for an occupation or career
  • Core theory, concepts and skills for an industry area
  • An industry placement with an employer
  • A minimum standard in maths and English if students have not already achieved them


Learners who pass all the elements of their T Level will get a nationally recognised qualification showing an overall grade of pass, merit or distinction. T Levels will primarily prepare students to move into a skilled job but can also lead to further technical training, such as higher technical qualifications, higher apprenticeships or a degree. T Levels will be recognised by Universities and will carry UCAS points.

T Levels will also set out the details of what students have achieved on their course including:

  • An overall pass grade for the T Level, shown as pass, merit or distinction
  • A separate grade for the occupational specialism, shown as pass, merit or distinction
  • A separate grade for the core component, using A* to E
  • Grades for maths and English qualifications
  • Details of the industry placement